Band: The Sea Within

CD Title: The Sea Within

Website: http://theseawithin.net

Label: InSideOut (2018)

Rating: Great symphonic prog with heavier flourishes


Avoiding the term “supergroup” this, oh shall we call them “Super-Collective” of musicians going by the nameThe Sea Within have created a self-titled album that comes in at just under eighty minutes of music. That may seem like a lot of music until you consider who’s involved here and that’s worth pointing out. So for the record The Sea Within is made up of: guitarist/vocalist Roine Stolt, bassist Jonas Reingold, keyboard player/vocalist Tom Brislin, drummer/vocalist Marco Minnemann and vocalist/guitarist Daniel Gildenlöw. All these guys come from multiple successful musical groups or projects and all have something musically to say, hence the length of the album. It’s a fascinating listen, let me say that. And it is an album that does indeed require multiple listens to fully appreciate. These twelve musical compositions, many of them on the longer side, are constructed in a fashion where the core melodies aren’t always obvious plus the instrumentation has a grander depth making things even less obvious on initial listens. However the more time you spend with these compositions the more the music feels well thought-out and performed. Things link together in a stronger fashion, musical transitions are better developed, themes, though subtle, shine through more clearly. Stylistically it is somewhat heavier in spots and yes, you will hear elements of Flower Kings, Pain of Salvation and more scattered about but none overtakes the core sound created by the melding of these five gifted musicians. Fans of the bands mentioned above will clearly enjoy with the music of The Sea Within but this is clearly music that new prog fans would do well to check out. Recommended.